Many state labor laws are governed by the United States Department of Labor and are outlined in Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Beyond these federal mandates, Ohio has several added rules regarding wages and overtime. Ohio law regarding overtime is described in Section 3 of Chapter 4111 of the Ohio Revised Codes (ORC).
What is the overtime hourly rate in Ohio?
In Ohio, employers are required to pay an hourly rate of 1.5 times the normal pay rate when an employee works more than 40 hours in a week.
Does the employer have to pay overtime when an employee work over 8 hours a day?
No. The daily amount is not relevant. The employer has to pay overtime only when the employee works more than 40 hours in a week.
Do all employers have to pay overtime?
No. For example, agricultural employers are not required to pay overtime.
Are all employees in Ohio entitled to overtime pay?
Almost all employees in Ohio are entitled to overtime pay. However, certain employees are exempt from overtime, as long as they make at least $455 a week, for example:
- Salaried executive;
- Professional and outside sales employees;
- Commissioned sales employees;
- Employees of seasonal or recreational facilities.